Friday was my birthday… So yeah happy birthday to me! I kind of feel a bit old… Normally I embrace my birthday with open arms being an only child and all I kind of make it a big deal… But this year I have realized I am a bit scared of getting older. I still had a marvelous weekend though… Great food, great laughs and good times with friends and family… It was fabulous. ;-)

I thought it would be a perfect time to mention the ethereal Sigur Ros and their new album, Med Sud I EyrumVid Spilum Endalaust , which translates to “with a buzz in our ears we play endlessly”. Their new album seems to be much more relatable, a bit more down to earth and fundamental then their passed albums, which all seemed to be fueled by abstract post-rock. This album is colorful, uplifting, expressive and beautiful. Highly recommended. (That is two in a row I might add)

mp3: Vid spilum endalaust

mp3: Med sud í eyrum

Med Sud I Eyrum Vid Spilum Endalaust 2008 (Beggars XL)

Also available on Amazon


7 Responses to “Another Year”

  1. Rare Vinyl on July 21st, 2008 9:34 am

    Nice site! lots of good music – thanks.

    we just started a members only MP3 blog for rare vinyl (mainly funk and jazz stuff), drop us an email for an invite code. myrarevinyl at gmail dot com…


  2. mjrc on July 23rd, 2008 6:55 am

    happy belated birthday! getting older sucks but it beats the alternative. :)

  3. Rachel on July 23rd, 2008 3:01 pm

    LOL Thanks Marcy!

  4. Jamie on July 23rd, 2008 6:09 pm

    Sigur Ros is always a birthday treat for me. Happy belated.

  5. Rachel on July 23rd, 2008 7:11 pm

    I agree, thank you! :-)

  6. Alina on July 25th, 2008 3:33 pm

    Hmm, I think this new album is more market-oriented than those old ones like Agaetis Byrjun and ( ), even the tracks have become shorter. But I really liked Festival and some other songs from this album :) Very good music anyway :)

  7. Melvin on July 30th, 2008 7:04 pm

    Hi, love the clean look and great music. Ive got something similar as well. Hope you can add me in your link list? i will do the same for yours! and sigur ros is amazing!!!

    thanks Melvin

Leave a Reply

  • Disclaimer

    Music found on this blog is for sampling only. If you like what you hear then support the artist. Buy their music, attend a show and spread the word. If you own the rights to any of the music featured here and you would like me to remove it contact me and I will remove the link immediately.

    Click the tag to listen, right click the song title to save. If you find that an mp3 is not playing chances are it has expired.

  • Contact

    Rachel - Music, Film
  • The Breakdown

  • Comment Love

  • Aggregator Love

    The Hype Machine


  • Archive

  • Meta