Well as you can see I was asked to remove the tracks that I hand picked from Jukebox. So I will comply…The problem is the promo tracks that they have so graciously allowed are not my favorite tracks from the album, although Metal Heart is an amazing song and one of my personal favs it was first found on Cat Power’s 1998 album, Moon Pix. Sigh…But I suppose it will have to do for all those who are not that familiar with Cat Power hopefully it will be enough to pull you in.

mp3: Metal Heart (Chan Marshall)

I can’t resist Cat Power (Chan Marshall), I love her, of course not in a romantic sense but in a sense that she can do no wrong in my eyes. Her voice just makes my heart beat the rhythm to her sultry sounding chords. Jukebox is her second album of covers, an album of classic songs of those who have influenced her the most over the years. Songs from the likes of Janis Joplin, Hank Williams, James Brown and Billie Holiday. This album is something to be heard indeed.A couple of my favorite tracks from the long awaited new album…

mp3: Silver Stallion *REMOVED (Lee Clayton) – Chan Marshall

mp3: Don’t Explain *REMOVED (Billie Holiday) – Chan Marshall

Jukebox 2008 (Matador Records)

Album available HERE and HERE


14 Responses to “Cat Power, Jukebox”

  1. Pip on January 31st, 2008 11:20 pm

    Not in a romantic sense? What about a pillow fight sense?

    No? Oh, ok. I’ve always liked her… well not always, since I first heard her. This I can listen to all the time whereas some of her previous work was best reserved for rainy days.

  2. Web Sheriff on February 1st, 2008 1:34 am

    Protecting Your Rights on the Internet
    Tel 44-(0)208-323 8013
    Fax 44-(0)208-323 8080

    Hi untitled records,

    On behalf of Matador Records, many thanks for plugging Cat Power, untitled records we would however, kindly ask you NOT to post copies of “JUKEBOX” on your site untitled records the same applies to individual tracks from the new album, although we are pleased to announce that – as a gesture of goodwill to Cat Power’s fans – both “Song to Bobby” and “Metal Heart” have now been designated as promo tracks that fans and bloggers are allowed to host and post etc.

    Many thanks in advance for your co-operation and, also, for respecting Matador’s and Cat Power’s wishes by removing your links to the pirate files in question.

    As you will appreciate, this e-mail is written on a without prejudice basis and, as such, all of our clients’ accumulated, worldwide rights remain strictly reserved : please excuse this required formality.



  3. Rachel on February 1st, 2008 10:35 am

    Its not an email it is a comment, I would have rather it been an email but since you all are automated now I guess this will have to do.

  4. Rachel on February 1st, 2008 10:36 am

    Pip, HAHA you’re funny!

  5. talia on February 1st, 2008 11:02 am


  6. talia on February 1st, 2008 11:02 am

    i meant damn!

  7. Rachel on February 1st, 2008 11:06 am

    Talia, go to emusic sign up for a trial account and download it from there. :-)

  8. tara on February 1st, 2008 1:13 pm

    damn you got busted by the fuzz.
    did you get into that class?
    im still sick.
    dr in 30 mins.

  9. Rachel on February 2nd, 2008 10:59 am

    Busted by the fuzz indeed, damn fuzz. And you’re sicky all the time, strep throat sicky, which is like the worse kind of sicky.

    Get better so we can chill to the next episode. ;-)

  10. Chris on February 2nd, 2008 11:01 am

    Seems like I always hang out with the wrong crowd, now this girlie has music that had to come down. That’s it, I’m not associating with this riff-raff any more….wait, I had to take down a post I had by The Magnetic Fields for the same reason. Guess I can no longer hang out with myself!

    By the way, I did some research on this “Web Sherriff”–this is what I came up with:

    Damn Band of Horses fan I bet…:)

  11. Rachel on February 2nd, 2008 11:17 am

    HAHA! That was so funny! You’re a funny guy Chris :-)

  12. mjrc on February 2nd, 2008 9:25 pm

    i seem to recall adam beggars saying on the elbows forum that no cat power tracks would be available prior to the record release, so i’m surprised they even have two up at the matador site. sucks that they found you, though, bastards! ;-)

  13. Wayne on February 3rd, 2008 3:57 am

    I love this record, but I also dearly love Cat Power. Silver Stallion is a great track, but Metal Heart and Song to Bobby are my favourites. Which I believe are the only two original songs. And she is coming to Australia again in March. hooray!

  14. Rachel on February 3rd, 2008 11:09 am

    Marcy, yeah it was no big surprise when the sheriff asked me to take those tracks down, since it is an album of covers different copyrights apply…Whatever. :-)

    Wayne, I am with you, I just love everything she does.

Leave a Reply

  • Disclaimer

    Music found on this blog is for sampling only. If you like what you hear then support the artist. Buy their music, attend a show and spread the word. If you own the rights to any of the music featured here and you would like me to remove it contact me and I will remove the link immediately.

    Click the tag to listen, right click the song title to save. If you find that an mp3 is not playing chances are it has expired.

  • Contact

    Rachel - Music, Film
  • The Breakdown

  • Comment Love

  • Aggregator Love

    The Hype Machine

  • Last.fm

  • Archive

  • Meta