That’s right all my fine feathered friends Spoon’s highly anticipated follow up to Gimme Fiction, their sixth album, Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga was finally released this week. And although this is old news around the blog-o-sphere I am sure there are some of you out there who held out as long as I to experience this release.

So what do I think of this album? Well for one thing I don’t think the title is stupid, it’s crazy! And my oh my I do love crazy. As for the music? I really wasn’t expecting much but this 10 track album has kind of knocked my socks off…Rarely do I enjoy an entire album all the way through but this set of songs seem to pull me right in with all of their toe tapping energetic rock and apparently “it can all be wedding cake” ;-). It is hard to keep a frown listening to these guys rock that’s all I’m saying.

And not to sound all cliché or anything but this is a must have album…It has certainly quickly climbed up my favorite albums of 2007 list. They come to LA in September to the Henry Fonda Theater.

Check to see when they are coming to you!

mp3 Expired: The Underdog

mp3 Expired: Black Like Me

Spoon on myspace

Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga 2007 (Merge Records)

The new album is available HERE and HERE


10 Responses to “Spoon, Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga”

  1. mjrc on July 12th, 2007 6:22 pm

    so let it be written, so let it be done!

    i’ve been wondering if i would like this–haven’t actually listened to anything off it yet–but if rachel recommends it, then i can pretty much count on liking it too. : )

  2. Parisian Cowboy on July 13th, 2007 1:52 am

    They’re damn good.

  3. Pip on July 13th, 2007 9:24 am

    Hmm… didn’t know they had cows over there…

    Tunes are indeed kick ass and or bitchen. Maybe even bossa nova.

  4. Rachel on July 13th, 2007 11:29 am

    Thanks Marcy and I think you will enjoy Spoon’s new one, rock and roll at it’s finest.

    I second that Parisian Cowboy and bookmarked your site. ;-)

    Pip, they have cows in France silly. Forgive him he is still pissed about the yummy French guy that was in “Broken English”. Kick ass, bitchen and definetely a little bossa nova.

  5. Chad on July 13th, 2007 11:33 am

    No, you’re wrong: the title IS stupid. Other than that, though, wow this is a good record. I’m just a casual Spoon fan at best, but I’ve been listening to (and loving) this one all week long. I waited, like you, until it finally came out – but even with all the hype I heard in the weeks leading up to its official release (from all those cooler than us kids who download things off the interwebs), it still didn’t disappoint.

  6. wayne on July 13th, 2007 6:56 pm

    To put it simply I love Spoon and this new album is as good as anything in the past. All of it is wonderful and it is without doubt one of the best releases this year. Black Like Me is a particular favourite.

  7. Rachel on July 14th, 2007 12:11 am

    Well Chad we disagree on the album title, I have seen far worse and so have you. ;-)
    But it seems you, Wayne and I are all listening to this album non-stop. Black Like Me and The Underdog are definetely key tracks as well as Finer Feelings and Eddie’s Raga.

    Now I just got the new Stars album on emusic so I am digesting that…When it rains it pours I tell you what.

  8. boombasticat on July 19th, 2007 3:30 pm

    “Rarely do I enjoy an entire album all the way through but this set of songs seem to pull me right in” = I agree completely. I’m a big Spoon fan and front to back, this is a very good album. “Black Like Me” is wonderful.

  9. tara on July 22nd, 2007 6:39 pm

    bought it.
    fyi-stars album got me to upgrade my emusic sub so i could get it now.

  10. Rachel on July 23rd, 2007 2:31 pm

    hehe good to hear! Makes me all happy inside. ;-)

Leave a Reply

  • Disclaimer

    Music found on this blog is for sampling only. If you like what you hear then support the artist. Buy their music, attend a show and spread the word. If you own the rights to any of the music featured here and you would like me to remove it contact me and I will remove the link immediately.

    Click the tag to listen, right click the song title to save. If you find that an mp3 is not playing chances are it has expired.

  • Contact

    Rachel - Music, Film
  • The Breakdown

  • Comment Love

  • Aggregator Love

    The Hype Machine


  • Archive

  • Meta