Priscilla Ahn has finally released her first full length album on Blue Note: A Good Day.  I am really quite happy to see her succeed, she has worked hard the last couple of years playing at the Hotel Cafe in LA basically every weekend, and sleeping on friend’s couches while touring with Joshua Radin.  Somehow I just have a lot of respect for her and her voice is really something that should be heard, it is quite beautiful.

The album has some really lovely new tracks on it, A Good Day (Morning Song) along with Masters In China are really the stars of the album for me, but the lyrics are lacking substance and it is funny because her voice is so angelic that I want there be depth so badly.  The substance will come though as her music continues to progress.  It is going to take some more life experience and getting in touch with her “being”. And I don’t want to sound all intellectually snobby about this but basically she talks about leaving the light on because she is scared of the dark… Hello?  I feel like she can do better than that and I hope so much that she will.  I look forward to it.

mp3: A Good Day (Morning Song)

mp3: Masters In China

A Good Day 2008 (Blue Note)

  • Disclaimer

    Music found on this blog is for sampling only. If you like what you hear then support the artist. Buy their music, attend a show and spread the word. If you own the rights to any of the music featured here and you would like me to remove it contact me and I will remove the link immediately.

    Click the tag to listen, right click the song title to save. If you find that an mp3 is not playing chances are it has expired.

  • Contact

    Rachel - Music, Film
  • The Breakdown

  • Comment Love

  • Aggregator Love

    The Hype Machine


  • Archive

  • Meta